Returning a Found Phone

Yesterday, while driving to my mom’s house, Max and I found a cell phone in the middle of the road.  I straddled the black box with my car thinking is that a cell phone?  Max asked, “was that a cell phone?”  So we turned around and went back.  Sure enough laying in the middle of the road.  So I looked at the contacts and saw Mom.  Mom should know who this belongs to so I called contact Mom.  When they answered I explained that I had found the phone on the road and was trying to return it to its owner. The person who answered the phone informed me it wasn’t his phone, he was talking on his phone.  I patiently went through it again but got the reply, “I don’t know whose phone you have.  I have my phone.”  Once more I tried to explain and got “who were you trying to call.”  This conversation was going no where so I thanked them and hung up. 

Max suggested I use the recent calls and call the last number called.  Sounded like a much better plan.  It worked.  The man who answered the phone knew whose phone I held. Eureka! After a bit of confusion on how to get the phone to the owner he decides he’ll just meet me on the road. So I parked on the side of the road with my flashers on and waited.  Finally I handed the phone over and we went on to Mom’s.

Someone told me I’d done a nice thing.  I don’t think I did.  I think I did the right thing.  Nothing major just took a bit of my time and found the rightful owner (sort of) and returned the phone.  This is what we are suppose to do.  The world is a much better place when we do the right thing.  And honestly I would want someone to do that for me.  And I feel better for it.

Also let this be a lesson in why I have an Otter Box.  Other than the scratches where the phone obviously fell the phone was still intact. 

Find your joy and laissez les bons temps rouler!

Missy   

Leave a Reply

