Visiting with an older generation

The elderly are often lonely.  I mentioned this before.   We’re busy and they’re slowing down.  They’re losing and have lost friends so their pool of people to talk to keeps shrinking.  When I worked with a pharmacy store before the elderly would often stop by to talk to me.  They’d stand there and talk for a while because someone was listening.  You could hear the loneliness in their voice often.  I was suppose to be working and I would work a little but mostly I focused on them.  And even when I was doing my job I would make sure they knew I WAS listening by commenting in a way that let them know I was hearing them not just nodding politely.  They always left with a smile.  No one ever gave me a hard time about this.  I don’t know if they never noticed or if they just realized that it was helpful to their customers.

I have another friend, who is in her seventies but you’d never know it, who goes and visits with people in what she calls “old folks home”.  She started visiting friends but she says she visits others because they’re all so lonely.  She always encourages me to do this too.  I have good intentions but as of yet I have not made it.  I am ashamed that I haven’t.  Again too “busy”, too wrapped up in my own life.  I believe a visit will increase my joy and the joy of others so I am going to make the time.  I challenge you to do the same.

Older people have wonderful stories to tell us.  Yes perhaps some of their ideals seem old fashion, perhaps they’re a little slow, and so forth but they’ve lived so many years.  The history they have will be gone if we don’t take the time to listen to them before they go.

The link to a video below both breaks my heart and warms it.  Watch it and perhaps you’ll be inspired to go to a nursing or retirement home and visit or perhaps just visit a neighbor.

WWII Vet & Preschooler

http://www.kare11.com/story/news/local/land-of-10000-stories/2014/09/11/erling-kindem-emmett-rychner-wwii-veteran-preschooler/15464193/

 

Find your joy and laissez les bons temps rouler!

Missy

 

PS this post was late because I took a “nap” at 8:30pm and woke up after midnight.  Oops.  Guess that was a bit more than a nap. o.O HEHEHE

Leave a Reply

