Gratitude Attitude

As I’m thinking of my positive thoughts this morning (click here for post about morning thoughts) I realize that most of my positive thoughts center on gratitude. How I am thankful for the many blessings in my life.   As I tried to come up with my “small positive thought” my thoughts kept coming going to things such as: “I’m thankful for the fact I have electricity”, “I am thankful my neck is barely stiff,” or “I’m thankful I woke up when I did or I’d be late” (that last one because I’d slept through the alarm clock).

There is nothing wrong with this. Recognizing the blessings, big and small, and being grateful for them is an awesome thing. We take many blessings for granted. Running water, clean water, electricity, food, a roof over our head, a bed to sleep on, etc. are all things that I am thankful for because there are people in this world who are not so fortunate. I was born privileged enough to live where I have these things. I am grateful for them and will not take them for granted.

I believe people who grateful are generally positive people. So positivity and gratitude go hand in hand. It’s hard to be a negative person if you realize how blessed you are. Counter negativity with gratitude.

And you are blessed, no matter who you are. There are blessings in your life. Find them and focus on them and not the negatives. No one has ever claimed to feel better after dwelling on the negatives of their lives. It won’t always be easy but the end result is a happier life.

Find your joy and laissez les bons temps rouler!

Missy

One thought on “Gratitude Attitude

Leave a Reply

