Celebrating a Life Well Lived

Today I went to a beautiful funeral.

It was a celebration of a life well lived.

The funeral started with the standard prayers. Then the priest announced the family wanted to invite people to share their memories and stories of Dr. Meadows. At this point it became a poignant collection of memories and accolades. Different people got up and told stories of how Dr. Meadows affected their lives or others around them. There was no list, anyone and everyone were invited to stand up and share. There was laughter and tears. It was absolutely beautiful.

This is the sort of funeral I’ve said I wanted for years now. Of course I said I wanted a funeral where everyone is drinking and telling stories. I want everyone to celebrate my life. Tell the stories of the good times. Hopefully forget and forgive the bad times. And there will be stories. There already are. I’ve lived a good life so far and hopefully I will continue to do so.

I love the idea of celebrating a life well lived as a way to say good bye. Yes his family and friends will mourn him but they opened the door to let the light shine in during this sad time with laughter and shared memories.

Find your joy and laissez les bons temps rouler!

Missy

Leave a Reply

