Words Have Power

Today I was in a great mood.  Very busy with a lot to do but I was positive it was going to get done and what didn’t get done no big deal.  I wasn’t going to sweat the little things.  It was going to be fine.

Then one person said something negative.  Something that ticked me off and frankly hurt my feelings.  Suddenly I am no longer that positive person I was trying to be.  I was angry and my mood was very dark.

I got away from the person.  Yes I said I love you before I left.

Still it was hard to get back into the joyful high I’d been on up until then.  I did okay.  I wasn’t grumpy with the others I was around.  I wasn’t ugly to anyone.  I just never totally shook it.

I tried I truly did.  But my emotions were a bit off.  I couldn’t shake the hurt.  It made me more emotional for the rest of the day. I wasn’t mean or ugly to anyone I just wasn’t as positive and carefree as I had been before.

I know this person didn’t mean to hurt me.  They love me.  I know this because they not only tell me but show me regularly.   We all hurt those we love sometimes.  It happens and I won’t be holding this against them.  Tomorrow I will be back to being fine.  I refuse for it to steal my joy twice.  Crap happens I need to get over it.

So today wasn’t a total win for the positive side but it wasn’t a total loss either.

This day is a lesson though.  Remember your words have power.  Power to hurt or power to help.  Chose them wisely.  Also remember negative has more lasting effects than positive.  That’s a sad fact.

kill a dream

Okay that may be a bit dramatic for my situation but it doesn’t make it less true.  One negative comment can wipe out hundreds of positive ones.

Find your joy and laissez les bons temps rouler!

Missy

Leave a Reply

