I Am What I am

E.C Segar is the creator of Popeye

Love who you are!*

I am what I am and that’s all I am.  And I don’t want to be anyone else.

I am generally a person who is an open book.  I don’t have many secrets.  Secrets are too much work.  I want you to know the real me and like who I am. I am not a mysterious person nor do I want to be. I do not hide my true self from others.  What you see is what you get.

If you don’t like who I am then that’s okay.  We don’t have to be friends.  I am never going to be everyone’s cup of tea.  I get that.  I can be a bit obnoxious at times.  Inappropriate? Yeah that’s another trait of mine.  But I am also a lot of good things too.  Though to be honest I don’t really find my obnoxiousness and inappropriateness faults.  I kind of enjoy those things.  Which means I will not be trying to fix those things, so if I get on your nerves and you can’t be my friend it’s okay because I am not going to change.

No one should change who they are to make others happy or to fit in.   If you’re changing to fit in or to make someone happy, it won’t last because eventually your true self will come out. The core of who you are will show back up. So the person you’re changing for will see the true you eventually. So why make yourself miserable pretending to be someone you’re not? And you will be miserable because no one can be happy not being true to themselves.

Show people the real you and the right people will be drawn to that wonderful real you.  If you’re pretending to be someone else then those relationships are built on falsehood.  No relationship will last if it isn’t based around honesty.  And the best relationships are those based on honesty.

People who are genuine and who genuinely like you are the people you will grow close with and build lasting bonds with. These are the people who will be there for you when you need it. They’re the people you can count on and that’s the kind of people you want in your life. Those kind of relationships will bring you joy.

Be yourself, love yourself, and accept yourself. Then you’ll find joy and others will be drawn to the joy that is uniquely you!

Find your joy and laissez les bons temps rouler!

Missy

*Popeye was created by E.C. Segar

Leave a Reply

