Embrace the Camera

Embrace the camera.

Do not avoid being in front of the camera. Enjoy the moment and leave that worry of a picture behind.

So what if you take a less than flattering picture? Honestly who actually loves every picture of themselves? No one. We all have pictures we hate. Most of us can look at a picture of ourselves and tear it apart. My double chin is showing. My eyes look puffy. I’ve got crazy eyes. It happens. So what? It’s okay. That picture isn’t who you are, it’s a picture of that moment in time.

Me with crazy eyes.  They're puffy and my wrinkles are showing! However it makes me laugh every time I see it.

Me with crazy eyes. They’re puffy and my wrinkles are showing! However it makes me laugh every time I see it.

First of all you’re more critical of yourself than anyone else. While you’re noticing how you can see a fat roll or a wrinkle, everyone else is noticing positive things. And even if you take a picture where no one can ever tell you that it’s a good picture of you, laugh it off.
My philosophy on pictures are it doesn’t matter if I look bad as long as I’m having fun or it makes people laugh.

I was eating a Chewy Spree.  It was sour.  This is the result.

I was eating a Chewy Spree. It was sour. This is the result.

The picture above was my profile picture for a while this past August. It made me laugh so I figured it would make others laugh. Perhaps brighten their day. I was at a convention when the lady next to me showed another lady this picture on facebook that she hated because it was “horrible of her.” So I pulled out my phone and showed her my profile picture. She laughed and said it made her feel better. Mission accomplished. That bad picture of me made someone else’s day a bit better. The friend added me as a friend because I had to be fun. Score twice because now I’m someone she wants to get to know better because I’m fun! 😀

Kim & I having fun on vacation.  Yes my double chin is showing.  But I love this picture because we're having a blast!

Kim & I having fun on vacation. Yes my double chin is showing. But I love this picture because we’re having a blast!

I want records of the fun I’m having. I don’t want something to happen to me and there be no physical proof of my life. I want those who will miss me to have pictures to look back upon to remind them of the good times. That’s what pictures are to me. The pictures of my departed ones are even more precious because I don’t have them to look at anymore. Don’t deprive your loved ones of that privilege.

You’re a beautiful person. Love who you are. Those faults of yours you find are more in your head than anyone else’s. People who love you will love you no matter what you look like. Those who judge you, you don’t have time for in your life anyways. So next time the camera comes out, smile and have a good time. Forget what it may capture. Quit thinking of the camera as your enemy. Embrace it and the good memories you’re making in front of it.
Find your joy and laissez les bons temps rouler!
Missy

6 thoughts on “Embrace the Camera

  1. I avoided pictures for YEARS. And in the last few years, it occurred to me that I didn’t my kids to have zero pictures of me – and of me with them. Now, I make a point to get into more pictures. I’m still self conscious, but damn it, I’m trying to get over it. I adore this blog post so damn much – almost as much as I adore you! *Hugs you tight*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. jacs1 says:

    These days I don’t mind when others take pics of me, and many times I ask others to take one of me, but I haven’t mastered the selfie, i.e. I have difficulty trying to focus my eyes so I’m looking at my phone and not all over the place!

    p.s. I didn’t even notice the double chin until you pointed it out. Because that smile of yours outshines it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Aw thanks Jacs. I see it less maybe because I’ve learned to not worry about it. Especially if I’m going to post my silly pictures what does it matter? 😀

      The selfie is not easy. I’m learning and slowly mastering it. But I have to take multiple ones to get one I like. LOL

      Like

Leave a Reply

