Not Listening

 

IMG_9745.JPG

Winnie the Pooh by A. A. Milne

 

If the person you are talking to does not appear to be listening, be patient.  It may simply be that he has a small bit of fluff in his ear. – Winnie the Pooh

I needed this advice.  Lately I keep getting frustrated and angry because it seems as if no one is listening.  I tell someone something and later they ask or say something and I say “I told you that earlier.  You weren’t listening to me… again.”

It happens occasionally.  Every one has either missed something or forgotten or just accidentally tuned someone out.  I’ve done it.  I didn’t do it out of disrespect yet I did it.  I get that.  I’m not perfect and neither is anyone else.  And yes sometimes people have called me on it.

Yet when it starts to seem to happen a lot I get all frustrated, sensitive, and grumpy about it.  That’s where I am now.  All these feelings means I am short with people when I feel they didn’t listen to me.  That isn’t positive and it doesn’t make me happy.  So why am I doing it?  I felt justified.

How silly is that?  First of all, even if they are being disrespectful and just plain ignoring me on purpose, I am not going to change that with my negative attitude.  Second of all they’re probably not ignoring me on purpose so I should handle it in a more positive way.  Lastly negative begets negative.  I say this all the time.  So practice what I preach.

Seeing this quote today seemed as if it were meant for me.  It woke me up.  Be Patient.  I haven’t been.  I haven’t been handling this in a positive way at all.

So I am going to try to handle this better.  First I’m going to try to quit being so sensitive about it.  If it happens again and still seems to be happening on an often basis then I will address the issue with the person(s) in a calm positive way.  Explain to them that I keep feeling as if they’re not hearing anything I say and how it makes me feel.  See if there is something causing this issue.  If there is then we can work on fixing it.

If it keeps happening after that then I will just have to remind myself about the fluff that might be in their ear and remember to be patient.  Remembering my actions can be positive or negative and it’s my choice which I use.  Positivity makes me happy.  Let’s keep trying for that.

Find your joy and laissez les bons temps rouler!

Missy

2 thoughts on “Not Listening

Leave a Reply

