Embracing Getting It Done Right Away

I have officially finished Christmas shopping!

Also I have wrapped everything I have in my possession.  Well my sister and I wrapped most of it Saturday night.  Her gifts I wrapped Sunday and then as things come in that I ordered online I am wrapping them.

This may not seem like a big deal.  It is, at least to me.  I am a natural procrastinator.  I have maintained for years I work best under pressure.  So usually I am wrapping everything at the last minute.  This year, however, I’m ahead of the game!  Score!

Earlier this month I said I was going to be more active, make a schedule.  I didn’t make a schedule but I did assume a more active life.  I am no longer procrastinating washing clothes or dishes.  I am folding the clothes instead of leaving them and living out of the baskets.  (I know shameful but it happens 😉  )  I’ve worked to accomplish things I’d been putting off.

I feel better for it.  I’m hoping I can keep this new trend up.  No no no.  Wait.  I will keep this new trend up.  It’s up to me to do it.  Hoping implies I won’t or can’t.  The only way I can stop being a procrastinator is to decide not to be one anymore.  So I will continue this trend.

I never realized how much procrastination stresses me or how it makes me feel.  I feel better when I am completing things instead of putting them off.  I feel more accomplished.  I feel lighter.  I am, dare I say it, proud of myself.  These are all positive things.  These are all things that will help bring me joy.

I was worried about keeping a schedule because honestly I like my life spontaneous.  This non-procrastinating lifestyle however lets me be spontaneous and yet still gets things done.  I am loving it.

So procrastinators take it from me, a born procrastinator, maybe we have it wrong.  Maybe there is something to be said for getting it done right away, for not putting it off tomorrow.  There is freedom in the doing it now.

Find your joy and laissez les bons temps rouler!

Missy

2 thoughts on “Embracing Getting It Done Right Away

Leave a Reply

